Adventures in Baking::: SCONES!!!!

I am a sucker for carbs…pretty much anything baked and yummy I will want to consume.  I defiantly have to practice my self-control when it comes to muffins, scones and any other baked goods. My friend, Hannah, introduced me to some gluten free scones a few weeks ago and of course, I couldn’t stop eating them. The best part was after I felt HEALTHY! No weird bloating or heaviness in my stomach. It was a glorious feeling. So, I asked her for the recipe and she sent me this link to Gluten Free Cooking School with a recipe to make gluten-free/soy-free all purpose flour .  I then found a Fresh Blueberry Scone recipe on the site and away I went making scones.

I am the worst at following directions and always have to add my own flair. You are welcome to use the link above to make these scones but below I documented my adventures in baking scones!

FRESH BLUEBERRY GLUTEN-FREE/SOY-FREE SCONES

Ingredients:

2 cups Gluten-Free/Soy Free All Purpose Flour Dry Mix
I made mine by putting together

  • 3/4 cup organic brown rice flour
  • 3/4 cup corn starch
  • 1/2 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/4 cup corn flour (masa harina)

(the left over flour (after 2 cups) I put away for further use.)

3/4 cup Agave Nectar
1 tbsp Baking powder
1 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp flaxseed soaked in 3 tbsp water
2/3 cup “Butter” mixture of 1 ripe banana mashed and the rest Greek Non-Fat Yogurt
1/2 cup Almond Milk
1/2 cup blueberries (frozen or fresh)

  1. Mix all of the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add the “butter” mixture into the dry ingredients until the largest crumbs are the size of peas.
  3. Add the egg substitute and almond milk to the dry ingredients, and mix until everything is thoroughly combined.
  4. Fold the blueberries into the dough and knead a few times so that they are evenly distributed
  5. Place dough on a lightly greased baking sheet or non-greased stone ware.
  6. Make the dough look like a BIG cookie.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 20-25 minutes.
  8. Take out of oven and cut into scone size pieces. Spread apart.
  9. Sprinkle with Cinnamon Sugar (optional) – I forgot to do this.
  10. Put back in the oven for 5-8 minutes – just to get a little more toasted.
  11. Make sure you share in the goodness but hide your share of the scones before the scone-starved roommates or house guests eat them all!
One thought on “Adventures in Baking::: SCONES!!!!

  1. I love scones! I haven’t had one in a long time since I started eating gluten free. This is the first gf scone recipe i’ve seen. I think I’ll try it out! And I’ll definitely hide my share from my roommates ;).

Leave a Reply

