Day 29::: “Here’s to Turning 30” in style

“Asphalt Cowboys Pancake Breakfast, REI Anniversary Sale, birthday party tonight, my Seester (Stephanie Hartley) is in town, Melissa Harding is coming up today for my birthday weekend, my core group has given me an amazing week, wow..the past 29 days have been amazing!!!! What a great way to turn 30. ♥” was my thought this morning.  My sister and I got up at 6am, got ready and met my friends Jen and Natalie and new friends Elisha and Daniel at a local starbucks to grab coffee and walk on over the Annual Redding Asphalt Cowboys Rodeo Pancake Breakfast.  Every year for the Redding Rodeo, the Asphalt cowboys put on a pancake breakfast. I am pretty sure the whole town of Redding comes out…or at least 10,000 of them come out for this event.  It’s pretty much a big deal.  If you have never been, go, experience and enjoy.

over 10,000 people showed up

Jen (in the middle) is my pancake breakfast buddie. This is our third time going together. We went together, 3 years ago and decided it would be our annual

So today is my last day in my 20’s. How do I feel about that you may be asking.  I am finishing off my 30 days of 30 things (which I have a secret…I haven’t done 30 things), hanging out with 30 different friends (which I have hung out with more then 30 friends) and turning 30 tomorrow.  I can honestly say I am looking forward to a new year. I don’t feel like I am turning 30. I still feel like I am going to be in my 20’s but, hey, you are as old as you feel or wanna be. Right?  😉

After work, I came home to a house being prepared for a par-tay! …and I wasn’t allowed to help…but I tried.  I was so excited for almost all, the people that I love (in Redding) to be in one room!  Alot of work went into the party. I have so much appreciation and am sooo thankful beyond words for my sister, Steph, my three roomies, Mel, Anna and Holly and again my core group ladies, Amy, Christina, Natalie and Emily.  They did the invites, the decorations and food. wow. wow. wow. My seester rocked in the baking in making gluten-free cupcakes and no-bake oatmeal cookies.

decorating cupcakes!

Words cannot describe how loved I felt tonight. Over 50 friends showed up, through out the night just to say happy birthday to me and join in the festivities.  I loved seeing all my worlds come together. Seeing every person who has made me who I am, who has encouraged me, believed in me, trusted me, seen me cry, seen me lead, laughed with me, gone on mission trips together, took long road trips together, know details of my life that others don’t, knows how to push my buttons and knows how to cheer me up, knows my quarks, knows my strengths, knows my weakness is muffins, knows my predictability. yep. all those people make up those who came to my party. Look at all these good lookin’ people.

My Seester is my best friend. I honestly couldn’t live with out her.  She knows me, sometimes then I think I know myself.  She knows my love language is words of affirmation and she loves me a lot.  For my birthday she gave me the best gift I have ever received from someone. She got all my friends, past, current, new to write words of encouragement, prophetic words or a lil note that describes me for my birthday. She typed them all out and went online and created a book for me called “30 years of Joy”.  Each note has a photo of the person/people that wrote the note.  Wow. I was soooo taken away by this gift, as I glimpsed through it when she gave it to me at the party, I got a little teary eyed but by the end and seeing all who wrote in it, I couldn’t hold back the tears. So much love and joy filled my heart. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU to everyone who wrote in it. I still have some blank pages, so if you would like to please feel free to send me a message and I will print it out to add to the book.  I love that I can look back at all the words you  all wrote and be reminded of all the champions, heroes, leaders, world changers, revivalist, conquers and beautiful people I have in my life.  again…thank you.

Now my core group is next. They are crazy and have blessed me so much this week from waking me up and taking me out to breakfast to putting my name up on a billboard-ish sign. Tonight they gave me a gift to go towards my dreams. The gift was progressive. #1 – tour books and maps to help me towards my National Park dream #2. fancy running socks, to help cushion my feet as a run #3 a pair of toms…a dream of mine to own a pair.  Thank You Ladies for believing in my dreams. Having you in my life is a dream. 🙂  And thank you for making turning 30 easy. 🙂

Goodnight world…when I wake up I will be 30,

Here’s to turning 30!

Sarah

FLASHBACK PHOTO!!!

For my Seester’s 30th and my Dad’s 60th birthday party, some of my family from Las Vegas came over.  SUCH fun was had. Here are me and my sis with my two cousins. yep. we all have Hammond/Hartley blood in us 🙂

My

Leave a Reply

