“{Befriending Faithfulness}

Image

“Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.”

{Psalm 37:3, ESV}

This past Sunday, one of my pastors, Eric Johnson, talked a little bit about how most often our faith has been about what we know will happen but he feels that there is about to be a wave of Faith that is going to be about the Unknown.  Similar to what Martin Luther King Jr. said that “Faith is taking the first step even when you can’t see the whole staircase”.  Embrace the unknown…the mystery.
This idea…this word, faith made me think of the verse,

“Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.”

{Psalm 37:3, ESV}

To befriend someone is the simple act of becoming their friend. Often you do not know this person first…but you choose to pursue and get to know them.  A friend is by definition (from Webster) is one attached to another by affection. What if we befriended faithfulness? That we would be attached to faithfulness to the Lord.  We simply become affectionate toward trusting the Lord and steadfast towards Him, especially in the unknown.  I want to become a friend of Faith in the Unknown  I want to delight myself in the Lord.  Trust the Lord. Dwell in the land of trust and faithfulness. Sounds good to me.

One of the Senior Leaders at my church spoke on Hope and Faith a while back.  He explained faith in a way that just has stuck with me.  He said, “Hope is a feeling and faith is seeing”.
Hebrews 11:1  says, “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see. ”  Having faith is having confidence, hope and assurance. That’s a good friend when you are walking into mystery…out into the unknown.
My top 5 strengths, well according to Clifton StrengthsFinder Test, are: communication, futuristic, restorative, woo and belief. As a futuristic strength person I may  “intentionally take steps to be the mastermind of my own future. You refuse to leave my destiny to chance. I probably resist placing it in someone else’s hands.” (definition from StrengthsFinder Test). Makes me sound awesome right?! Well, I am awesome, but the truth is, sometimes our greatest strength can become our weakness if we do not learn to properly use our strength.

I like plans. I like structure. I find freedom within the structure. Give me a plan and I am willing to be flexible with the plan, change the plan, change the structure of the plan…just give me a plan so I have some sort of direction and control. In my life I have learned to be flexible and adapt to situations, but usually I have had a plan. Since I began my relationship with the Lord in 1997, He speaks to me often. We chat about life, what I love, who to pray for and of course what I am doing with my life.  Going into college, I really started to develop a deep connection with the Lord and sought Him for all my decisions, really desiring to hear Him and what His best was for me. I knew He loved me so of course He has the best for me. I always had a plan. The Lord usually would tell me His plans in advanced, so I could plan. It was the way we worked…it was the way I worked. Before I began my bachelors degree, I knew months in advance and I  planned out my year. I knew 8 months before I moved to Redding. I had a lot of time to plan (find housing, job, etc)

Now, in 2013 …I am learning a new thing…How to not see the whole staircase, but only parts of it at a time and believe that it’s leading me somewhere amazing. I am learning how to not plan but embrace the mystery of the unknown… (S-C-A-R-Y) but yet to be flexible with out a plan and a bit spontaneous and to learn to trust. Learn to believe and trust that with each step I take the Lord will reveal the next step to me. That I don’t have to have it all planned out before I take a step, but as I take a step the plan will be revealed.  I had some “Peter” moments last year, where the Lord said to me, “Sarah, do you trust me?” I would say yes, and I had to put my words into action. I had not plan of action on how to handle the situation or what I was feeling except to trust the Lord and “watch what He would do”. Usually the Lord will give me a vision an over all pictures and bout the time it will happen.

It’s kind of like a new relationship. I am always so eager to know EVERYTHING about this wonderful person in front of me. I want to know every detail of their life. Stranger’s are just friends I haven’t met yet. Sometimes, I can ask a bazillion questions because I want to know all about the right away…instead of slowing down, and learning who they are step by step. Each encounter with that person is seeing a new part of who they are …in this case another part of the staircase.

The Lord have been giving me hints for the past few months of new things coming, but since he didn’t say “Sarah, move to _________”, I didn’t think I was hearing right. All he was giving me was things are changing. …hmmm ok Lord. Last Winter, I really felt like the Lord was leading me to make some declarations of my 2013. Who do I want to become, how do I want my life to be like, who do I want in my life, who do I want to be intentional with, how do I want to spend my time? As I began to explore these questions, some of my dreams that I left about 4 years ago started coming alive again, and I began to wonder. what if? What if I go after these dreams? Is it time to pick them back up? A few months ago the thought of pursuing new dreams or even old dreams scared me gave me anxiety because some would mean I might have to move or change the way I live day in day out, and the change was coming with out an eight month plan! I freaked out and couldn’t handle it so put all those thoughts away. But as the Lord does, He speaks to us gentle and prompts us. When he brought up these new things over Christmas, I realized, I was anxious about them but actually was excited and had peace.

It’s about FAITH, it’s about believing and hoping in the Lord. So I don’t know what the next year, month, day, hour has to hold, or where I will be in 8 months or who I will be surrounded by in 8 months but what I do know is that I will take the first step of this staircase and see what the next step has to offer and believe that there, the Lord will show me the next step.. He makes my paths straight, sets my hinds feet on high places.

I don’t know what it looks like yet to even take the first steps…but I have faith and believe the Holy Spirit will guide me.

2 thoughts on ““{Befriending Faithfulness}

Leave a Reply

